Things

Eri’s Closet: 5 Ways to Style Men’s Jeans

Hello, my name is Eri and I’m a tall Filipina.

It’s difficult being a tall plus-sized woman in the Philippines because it means that I can’t buy clothes (particularly pants and jeans) from the Women’s section. The times I’ve tried to buy pants from the women’s section of any department store (or retail store) usually ends in distress and disappointment.

Half the time, I can’t get the pants over my butt. Women’s pants are too short for my legs, the hems ending two inches away from my ankle. I didn’t want capris but that’s my default if I end up buying women’s pants.

So the solution to my problem? I buy my pants in the Men’s Section. Their fit is better, their overall quality is better and they don’t have fake pockets!

“But Eri,” you ask, eyebrows furrowing “how do you make men’s jeans look…not like men’s jeans?”

Well, dear friend, let me show you. Welcome to Eri’s Closet. Today, we’re going to style men’s jeans.

How2Style

The jeans I’m wearing are from Uniqlo. They are the Color Slim Fit Jeans in Black.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
T-shirt: Uniqlo, Jacket: Gap (thrifted), Shoes: City Sneaks by Payless

Basic or Normcore? We’ll never know. This whole outfit (except the shoes) is from the men’s section. Good for when you gotta do a lot of moving around and it’s not too hot.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Denim top: SM Surplus Shop (Men’s Section), Shoes: Risque By Tal

The problems I have with women’s blouses (much like women’s pants) are:
1. The sleeves are too short.
2. They are far less sturdy.
3. USELESS POCKETS!

I tried to make the overall vibe look girly-er by tucking in just the front. This is a good look for girl’s days out or light errands in an air-conditioned place.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Blazer: Forever 21, Top: thrifted, Shoes: Dr. Martens 1461, Eyewear: Sunnies Specs

I wanted a look that one could wear in a more corporate setting so I tried this #SuitAndTie lady-boss style and it looks pretty good. The key to this look is keeping your colors cohesive, I think.

Although, who actually wears their blazers just around their shoulders? And how do they not roll off your shoulders every two seconds?

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
V-neck sweater: Uniqlo, Vest: Bench, Shoes: Dr. Martens 1461

Okay, to be honest, I wanted to see if I could style myself like one of my favorite YouTubers: Dan Howell (danisnotonfire). Phandom fam, where u at?

I was going for a dark-like-my-soul nihilist aesthetic. Since it is all black, I took another pic showing the details of the top.

2016-09-13 12.41.50 1
Close up details. #allblackerrehthang

The zippered thing is actually a vest and the inner shirt is a sweater. Not good for PH weather but it looks cool AF.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Jacket: Forever 21 Men, T-shirt: SM Youth, Sneakers: Champion by Payless

And to match my Dan Howell look, I styled myself my other favorite YouTuber: Phil Lester (AmazingPhil). It’s a bit of a color explosion but that’s how Phil Lester is. *pow-zazz* This look is colorful and vibrant with an easy fit which just means that you can wear this anywhere.

Which is your favorite look? Let me know in the comments.

Hope you’re having a great day and I’ll see you in the next one.

xx,
Eri 🙂

 

Leave a comment