Person

The Enneagram: What Number am I?

I was watching Tessa Violet’s video about the Enneagram the other day. Up until that video, I had no idea what The Enneagram was. With a bit of prodding and googling though, I gradually started to understand it.

Basically, The Enneagram is a personality construct which operates on the idea that there are nine basic types of personality based on one’s desires and fears. I found this system particularly interesting because it reflects a person’s values rather than their education or their social background. There’s this concept about wings that I honestly haven’t gotten into yet. You can read up more about that here if you want to learn more.

The Nine Basic Personality Types are as follows:

Enneagram
Taken from The Enneagram Institute website

ONE: THE REFORMER
The Rational, Idealistic Type: Principled, Purposeful, Self-Controlled, and Perfectionistic
TWO: THE HELPER
The Caring, Interpersonal Type: Demonstrative, Generous, People-Pleasing, and Possessive
THREE: THE ACHIEVER
The Success-Oriented, Pragmatic Type: Adaptive, Excelling, Driven, and Image-Conscious
FOUR: THE INDIVIDUALIST
The Sensitive, Withdrawn Type: Expressive, Dramatic, Self-Absorbed, and Temperamental
FIVE: THE INVESTIGATOR
The Intense, Cerebral Type: Perceptive, Innovative, Secretive, and Isolated
SIX: THE LOYALIST
The Committed, Security-Oriented Type: Engaging, Responsible, Anxious, and Suspicious
SEVEN: THE ENTHUSIAST
The Busy, Fun-Loving Type: Spontaneous, Versatile, Distractible, and Scattered
EIGHT: THE CHALLENGER
The Powerful, Dominating Type: Self-Confident, Decisive, Willful, and Confrontational
NINE: THE PEACEMAKER
The Easygoing, Self-Effacing Type: Receptive, Reassuring, Agreeable, and Complacent

The Enneagram is meant to help us understand more about ourselves and how our desires and fears shape the way we respond and act in different situations.

Anyway, so of course I wanted to know what type I was. I wanted to take the full test on the official website but I…don’t have any money to pay for that. After a quick google, I found a free online test!

After taking the test, I learned that I’m a Six: The Loyalist.

Sixes are describes as “responsible, trustworthy, and value loyalty to family, friends, groups, and causes. Their personalities range broadly from reserved and timid to outspoken and confrontative.” 

Our basic fear is to be without support or guidance and our basic desire is to have security and support.

The Loyalist, according to the official website, are

The most loyal to their friends and to their beliefs. They will “go down with the ship” and hang on to relationships of all kinds far longer than most other types. Sixes are also loyal to ideas, systems, and beliefs—even to the belief that all ideas or authorities should be questioned or defied. Indeed, not all Sixes go along with the “status quo”: their beliefs may be rebellious and anti-authoritarian, even revolutionary. In any case, they will typically fight for their beliefs more fiercely than they will fight for themselves, and they will defend their community or family more tenaciously than they will defend themselves.

Among all the personality types, I am indeed a Six. It makes the most sense and reading more about my type helps me understand how I react, especially in times of anxiety. What number are you? Let me know in the comments below!

I hope you’re having a great day and I’ll catch you in the next one.

xx,
Eri 🙂

Leave a Reply

