Person, Writing

Hello

Hello.

How are you? This must come as a surprise for you. Nobody asks you how you are anymore, right?

Yeah, I get that. Nobody asks me how I am either. They just go straight to the point. What they need. Who they’re looking for. Where to get this or that. I think people just open with a “how are you” to be polite. Nobody actually stays long enough to get the reply.

But I want to know. I’m here to listen. How are you?

How are things going for you? Are you well? Is everything alright?

Are you afraid to answer that it’s not?

That’s okay. I’m not alright either. I have a lot on my mind. A vast majority of it doesn’t make sense or have any significant relevance but hey, there they are anyway. And that’s okay. It’s okay to not be alright. We don’t owe the world to be consistently positive. Things happen and we need to remind ourselves that not everything is going to be a cheerful leap down the rainbow slide. And that it’s okay, normal even, to be unhappy sometimes.

Consider this your reminder, maybe.

So, yeah. How are you?

Do you have something you want to get off your chest? Something troubling you? Something you’d like to share?

I’m here. Let it out. I’m listening.

Leave a Reply

