Things

What I Put on My Face: Skincare for Oily Skin

Today, let’s talk about beauty, particularly skin care!

If there are two things you need to know about me they are

  1. I have very oily skin and a ridiculously oily scalp.
  2. I am a lazy person when it comes to skin care.

In a world where a large percentage of women have dry skin, finding products that work well with my particular skin type is a challenge. It’s even more of a challenge when you’re like me, a lazy person living on a tropical island that sometimes just can’t be bothered to slather so many creams and serums and gels all over my face. (Don’t be like me, skin care is important.)

I’ve been trying different products to keep my face clean and relatively zit-free for a long time and I have found that this combination of products helps my skin the most. If your skin type is anything like mine, you might want to try these products out for yourself. 😀

A bit of a disclaimer: I’m not sponsored. These are products that I actually use (when I remember) and pay for with my own money. Consult with a dermatologist if you have specific skin problems/allergies before using these just to be safe. Okay? Okay, cool. 🙂

Let’s go in the order I usually use these things, shall we?

IMG_3475

Neutrogena Deep Clean Foaming Cleanser

Product Type: Cleanser
Usage: Daily

I like this cleanser because it strips off any excess oil without leaving my face feeling dry or like a squeezed out dish sponge. It also smells really fresh but not overwhelming, always a plus. Sometimes, I use a facial brush to lather and gently exfoliate. More often though I just use my hands.

IMG_3476

St. Ives Blemish Control Apricot Scrub

Product Type: Facial Scrub
Usage: 3-5 times a week

A lot of people will argue that St. Ives’s scrubs, particularly the apricot scrub, is too harsh on the skin. I am not one of those people. I like it because the grit of this scrub gives me a deep clean and removes any dead skin cells. This product, from what I’ve observed, has changed quite a bit from its initial formulation so for me, it’s just the right amount of grain.

Also, they use natural exfoliants in their scrub which is always a good thing. 😀

IMG_3469

Garnier Pure Active Micellar Cleansing Water

Product Type: Toner
Usage: 3-4 times a week, as makeup remover

I wasn’t a fan of micellar water when it first came up as a beauty thing. I tried a lot of different brands of micellar water and they didn’t do much for my grease trap of a face. That was until I found this one because daaaang this stuff works. I use it as a toner after I wash my face to remove any residue and it helps my face stay matte longer.

I also occasionally use it as a makeup remover but only if I’m wearing light, everyday makeup. Reviews for this product say that it can remove the most stubborn, waterproof makeup. As much as it can remove waterproof mascara, it can’t get all of it off unless you use a lot.

Garnier’s micellar water has two types, one for normal to dry skin (with a pink cover) and one for oily combination skin (with a blue cover, as seen above).

IMG_3465

L’Oreal Hydra Fresh Anti-Shine Icy Gel

Product Type: Moisturizer
Usage: 4 times a week

I love this stuff. I bought it on a whim one day and after using it semi-regularly (aka when I remember to use it), I’ve been changed. My skin loves this.

What I love about it is that it’s a water-based moisturizer so it doesn’t feel like I slathered any more oil on my already frying pan oily face. It also smells refreshing. When I put it on my face, my skin feels so much smoother and also matte. I don’t know how they do it but I’m not complaining! And after slathering it on, it leaves my face feeling cool and minty (that’s the icy part). You don’t need a lot of product so it also lasts a while.

IMG_3472

Biore Perfect Oil

Product Type: Makeup Remover/Cleansing Oil
Usage: Once a week, as makeup remover

When I’m wearing particularly ~glamorous~ makeup or trying out different makeup looks, this is my go-to makeup remover. It’s a cleansing oil that helps remove even the most waterproof of makeup without drying my skin out too much. I use two to three pumps of this oil, massage it into my skin and rinse off with warm water.

What I love about this is it’s an oil that doesn’t clog my pores – a big thing I try to avoid in products. It’s also gentle on sensitive skin, especially with my eyes. I can rub the oil into my lashes to get the stubborn mascara out of them without stinging the bejeezus out of my eyes. It also kind of smells like green apple candy. 😀

IMG_3466

Cure Natural Aqua Gel

Product Type: Exfoliator
Usage: 1-2 times a week, as needed

I’m sure you’ve seen this product before. I first saw this product when I was looking for a gentle exfoliant for my face that doesn’t have any baking soda or any other harsh scrubby bits in it. The blogosphere was going nuts over this stuff, saying that it really helped them eliminate dead skin on problem areas. It had pretty good reviews. It’s a Japanese cult favorite. So when I went to Osaka, I bought a small bottle to try it out.

It’s a water-based peeling gel that takes off dead skin from your face and sweet potato pie, it WORKS. The reviews aren’t kidding. It’s super effective! Since I started using it at least once a week, my skin is smoother and definitely less dull. God bless this beautiful miracle.

I would like to tell you that as much as this is super effective, it also costs a pretty penny. Locally, it costs about Php 1,500.00 for the big bottle. I’m sure there are cheaper alternatives for it so do look around and try other products if you’re on a strict budget.


And there we go, these are my skin care basics for my oily face. 😀 Do you have any OG products? Let me know in the comments!

I hope you’re having a great day and I’ll catch you in the next one.

xx,
Eri 🙂

Leave a Reply

