Writing

The Forever Night

In further attempts to de-clutter my plot bunny shelf, I would like to share with you this short bit of prose. I haven’t written any good prose in a long time so I may be a little rusty at it. This is an idea my brain plopped out a few months ago and today, I thought it would be good to write a bit more on it.

I’m not quite sure how I want it to go just yet but hey, no harm in writing it down here for now.

The Forever Night

I once slept so deep that the only thing that stirred me back into consciousness was the fact that the blood vessels in my arm couldn’t take the pressure of the rest of my body lying on top of it. I shot up from bed so fast that the world couldn’t keep up with the speed that my head was rushing at. Waking up was a woozy, confusing jolt. I’ve never slept as deep as that again.

That sleep couldn’t be as deep as when you drifted off into the Forever Night.

They say that once you fall into it (and it’s always falling) you feel no pain. You don’t stir or shift or anything else. It’s just an endless blackness for miles. Some say that the Forever Night is quiet and dark, others would argue that it’s a bright light. But one thing is certain: nobody ever discusses the Forever Night long enough to get anything substantial out of it.

It’s in bad taste, they say. But that’s never stopped me before.

I remember the day you first started drifting. It was a sunny afternoon in August, the trees were buzzing with the chirping of cicadas. We were lying under the shade of the willow tree in your backyard. Your head was in my lap, my back resting against the bark and roots. A gentle breeze blew in from the west, your goldenrod hair tangling with the grass.

It was barely a minute of comfortable silence. You shut your eyes and there you went. I almost hadn’t noticed it until I held your hand.

You were Cold.


Well. That’s all I’ve got so far. I’ll probably flesh this out more in the coming weeks. Hopefully the writing gods cooperate with me. I’d love to hear your feedback on this. Let me know in the comments!

I hope you’re having a great day and I’ll catch you in the next one.

xx,
Eri 🙂

Leave a Reply

