Writing

Poem: Radioactivity

I wrote this poem as a personal reflection on something that happened some time ago. I’m not ready to share that story because I feel like it’s not fair to bias you by only sharing one side of the story. Will I ever be ready to share this? Maybe.

In the mean time, here’s a poem to convey my feelings.

Radioactivity
Eri Santos

According to the geniuses
behind Wikipedia,

Radioactivity is the process by which
an unstable atomic nucleus
loses energy by
emitting radiation.

Our relationship
is like radioactive decay:

our foundation, unstable
losing energy
and emitting toxins
in every direction

This was doomed
from the start:

but that never stopped our
particles from bonding
together over time
in strength and capacity

This is the tale
of our inevitable fission:

our untimely demise
rotting what was once
a beautiful memory
into the darkness

According to the geniuses
behind Wikipedia,

Radioactivity is the process by which
an unstable atomic nucleus
loses energy by
emitting radiation.

Our relationship
is like radioactive decay:

the bonds are broken
and I drift down —
without a connection
to stand on.


The best thing about this…complicated situation is that I can use the feelings it gives me to write something. That’s one way of looking at it, I guess. Better than being a petty and unproductive vague-poster on social media, right?

Oh well. Maybe I’ll revise this in the future. Just wanted to get that out there now in case I forget. Thanks for reading.

I hope you’re having a great day and I’ll see you in the next one.

xx,
Eri 🙂

Leave a Reply

