Things

Vlogging, YouTubers and #content

I was watching the first part of EverydayJim’s last vlog and I made the mistake of looking through the comments. A lot of them were not happy with his decision to stop daily vlogging, calling him a sell-out, whiny and ungrateful for his audience. While scrolling deeper into the comment section (which you are. not. supposed. to. do.), it got me thinking about vlogging, YouTube and viewership.

Now before you get your underwear in a knot, please know that this is just my opinion on the matter. I am not expecting you to agree with me 100%. We don’t have to agree and that’s okay. I just want to share some thoughts on the topic.

Okay? Okay.

Vlogging

Being a small vlogger based in the Philippines with a very limited viewership poses its own challenges. If my aim for creating my channel was to get a lot of followers and become YouTube-famous, there’s a way and a strategy to achieve that goal. There’s nothing wrong with going for that if that were my goal. But that’s not my goal.

I made my channel to make content that I want. I made my channel to express myself in a video format which is something that I’ve always liked to do (my first video camera was a mini-tape camcorder, I got it at age 14 I think.). I like making videos and if my content gets a few views or goes viral, that’s all just an added bonus.

YouTubers and Content

Along with making content, I also enjoy watching other people’s content. As much as I have favorite YouTubers, I don’t watch every single video that said favorite YouTuber makes. That doesn’t make me a bad fan. That just me as a viewer.

If you watch every single video, that’s fine. If you just watch the content you like, that’s fine too. That’s the great thing about YouTube: you have the choice. You and I are free to watch the content we want.

It’s easy for viewers to forget that YouTubers are people too. No matter how big they get or how famous they become or what their motive for making content is, these people are people. They make videos for a reason and we should respect their reasons and their decisions over their content, even if we don’t necessarily agree with them.

Again, that’s the great thing about YouTube: you have a choice. If you don’t like the content, you don’t have to watch it. It’s okay. There is no obligation here.

Comments

My general rule when it comes to commenting (particularly on YouTube videos) is The Golden Rule. I don’t want people to be rude to me so I won’t be rude to other people. I know how it feels to read hateful things about you and it doesn’t do a person good to give someone hate. There’s a way to clarify or ask without being mean. There’s no need for hostility or anger or hate in the comments section of a video (or anything, honestly).

I also try not to be impulsive and post the first thing that comes to mind because…well, it’s never a good idea to not think things through, you know?

However, it’s my responsibility as a netizen/vlogger/content creator to make sure to make content that can enrich and add to the growing cornucopia of online information. If a YouTuber makes content that is harmful, negative and hateful, it’s our responsibility as viewers to call that out in a respectful, intellectual manner.

Besides, if a YouTuber is making hateful/harmful content, that’s against Community Guidelines.

So to summarize:

  1. Vlogging is fun.
  2. YouTubers are people too.
  3. YouTube is great because we are free to choose.
  4. Constructive comments > hateful comments

Thank you for reading this entry about YouTube and stuff. If you have any questions or clarifications, let me know in the comments below.

Hope you’re having a great day and I’ll see you in the next one.

xx,
Eri 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

